Home
1
Hot News
2
announcement
3
Battery life definition4
https://www.nface.com.tw/en/ 新国株式会社環境開発
新国株式会社環境開発 No. 901, Guangfu Road, Bade District, Taoyuan City, Taiwan 334
Discussion on the Causes of Battery Aging   (1)       Deep discharge: The deeper the discharge depth, the shorter the life of the battery, or even damage it and make it unusable. From the perspective of battery safety, a capacity test has to be done.。 (2)       High current discharge: Using a large discharge current will shorten the service life of the battery. This can be explained by the corrosion and cross-sectional area of ​​the lead plate of the electrode. Generally speaking, the natural damage of the lead-acid battery is due to the corrosion of the lead plate of the positive electrode, which makes the cross-sectional area of ​​the current flow smaller, so when a large current is discharged , a larger lead plate area is required to provide such a large current flow, but when the cross-sectional area of ​​the lead plate is not enough for the discharge current to flow, it will affect the life of the battery. In order to use the safety point of view, we have to do a large current discharge test.。 (3)       High current charging: When charging with high current, when the gas generated exceeds a certain amount, it will exceed the rate that the battery itself can absorb, so that the internal pressure will rise, and the gas will be discharged from the safety valve, resulting in a large amount of electrolyte consumption, reducing the battery life. lifespan. In the constant voltage charging mode, the charging current will decrease as the battery is fully charged. When the battery is fully charged, the charger will automatically enter the float charging mode to keep the battery in a fully charged state. In this method, at the initial stage of charging, the initial charging current is too large due to the low voltage at the battery terminal, which easily damages the plate of the battery and increases the temperature of the battery itself, thereby shortening the life of the battery. Overcharging: If the battery has been overcharged , its components (plates, separators, etc.) will be damaged due to the oxidation of the electrolyte. (4)       Effect of ambient temperature: The ambient temperature of the battery will affect its life. If the battery is charged at a constant voltage, when the surrounding temperature is too high, the deterioration of the internal materials of the battery will be accelerated, resulting in shortened battery life. Charging at too low temperature will generate hydrogen gas, which will increase the internal pressure or reduce the electrolyte, resulting in shortened life. Generally speaking, the working temperature of the flooded battery is 20°C to 40°C as the best environment. The working temperature of the lean liquid battery (including AGM or GEL) is 20°C to 25°C as the best environment.   battery deterioration (1)       Whether the lead-acid battery is charged or discharged or floated, it will cause the water on the positive plate to dry up, or the sulfation of the negative plate. (2)       The reasons for the deterioration of the positive plate can be divided into three types: softening of the active material, corrosion of the grid, and barrier between the grid and the active material interface. After charging and discharging, the positive electrode active material repeatedly dissolves lead dioxide and precipitates lead sulfate, and then condenses into larger cavities and develops into a delicate colloidal structure. This process current flows to the surface of the active material with low resistance. At the same time, it is an ideal structure from the perspective of ensuring the diffusion of sulfuric acid. However, if the active material particles that form this colloidal structure are combined, they will gradually weaken. , the active material becomes inactivated to reduce the discharge capacity. (3)       The electrochemical reaction formula of the lead-acid battery is shown in the figure below: Because in the chemical reaction formula during the charge and discharge process of the lead-acid battery, the water in the electrolyte in the lead-acid battery will be consumed. Insufficient, too much gas will be directly discharged out of the battery through the exhaust plug, so that the water in the electrolyte will gradually decrease. In addition, when the battery is discharged, or when the temperature of the battery is higher than the external temperature, water vapor may also penetrate the wall of the electrolytic cell and escape to the outside of the battery. (4)       The sulfation of the negative plate is most likely to occur when the lead-acid battery is not fully charged and is usually used in a partially discharged state. Especially in the lower layer due to the high specific gravity, the sulfation of the plate will occur through the stratification of the electrolyte, and the large lead sulfate crystals that are not easy to charge will be formed in the lower layer of the plate, resulting in a decrease in capacity.   Three common judgments for battery deterioration (1)       Outlier voltage: When the battery is used in series mode, due to the inconsistent characteristics of the battery itself, the battery will have greater inconsistency after cycle use of charge and discharge, causing some batteries to be overcharged and some batteries to be undercharged phenomenon, thus accelerating battery damage. Generally, the floating charge voltage of a 12V battery is set at 13.5±0.2V. If the voltage is too low, the battery performance will decline and the capacity will decrease. When the voltage is too high, the overvoltage of the plate will rise sharply, resulting in rapid gas generation. At this time, if the gas re-reaction rate is lower than the gas generation rate, the gas cycle efficiency will decrease, the internal pressure of the battery will increase, and the gas will escape through the exhaust valve. Therefore, the floating charge voltage must be controlled below the overvoltage vaporization point, that is, to control the gas generation rate, so as not to cause the battery structure to crack due to excessive internal pressure or cause water loss, thereby reducing the service life of the battery. (2)       Float charge internal resistance: The general failure mode of VRLA batteries is corrosion of the grid body of the plate, deterioration of the active material of the plate and dryness of the electrolyte. Unusual failure modes are deterioration of the conductive path and excessive drying up of the electrolyte. These conditions will affect the battery and increase the internal resistance of the battery. If the internal resistance of the battery increases by 30% compared with the new one, the battery should be tested again to determine the cause, and if necessary, the battery or system can be tested for capacity to ensure its reliability. (3)       Battery capacity: The battery system must undergo a battery capacity test under load every two years, ideally close to the result of the original installation acceptance. Once it is found that the battery has reached 85% of the rated capacity, the annual capacity test must be carried out. https://www.nface.com.tw/en/hot_307351.html Discussion on the Causes of Battery Aging 2024-05-13 2025-05-13
新国株式会社環境開発 No. 901, Guangfu Road, Bade District, Taoyuan City, Taiwan 334 https://www.nface.com.tw/en/hot_307351.html
新国株式会社環境開発 No. 901, Guangfu Road, Bade District, Taoyuan City, Taiwan 334 https://www.nface.com.tw/en/hot_307351.html
https://schema.org/EventMovedOnline https://schema.org/OfflineEventAttendanceMode
2024-05-13 http://schema.org/InStock TWD 0 https://www.nface.com.tw/en/hot_307351.html

Battery Life


In the use of lead-acid batteries, how to ensure that the battery can work normally is a very important issue. Generally speaking, the battery will not be damaged suddenly and cannot work under normal use. Therefore, when judging whether the battery is damaged, it is based on The capacity of the battery is used as the benchmark, and a complete charge and discharge test is carried out on the battery. When the capacity of the battery is below 60% of its rated capacity, it means that the battery has been seriously aged, and it can also be said that the battery has reached the end of its life.

When the battery is actually used, the battery is usually connected in series and parallel. The purpose is to increase the capacity of the battery pack. Therefore, when judging the life of the battery, a string of battery packs is used as the unit of measurement. A string of battery packs is regarded as a unit, so when setting the experimental conditions, the individual batteries of the battery pack are often regarded as the same, but there will be considerable differences in actual use, causing some batteries to age quite quickly, thus reducing the overall Therefore, the battery must be replaced before it is damaged and unusable to ensure the normal operation of the battery system.



There are two main definitions of battery life.


Cycle life (Cycle Life):

Cycle means that the battery is used as the main power source, so the number of charging and discharging is relatively frequent, such as electric vehicles; at this time, the standard of life is to set a condition, when the capacity is repeatedly charged and discharged, the capacity drops to a certain value relative to the initial value (such as 80% or 60%), the number of cycles that can be repeatedly charged and discharged during this period.

The biggest factor affecting the cycle life of lead-acid batteries is the depth of discharge (DOD, Depth of Discharge)
, when the depth of discharge used is deeper, the number of times the battery can be recycled is less, and the relationship is shown in the figure below. For this lead-acid battery CSB (HRL12390W), when the depth of discharge is 50%, the number of cycles is about 400 to 500 times, when the depth of discharge is 100%, the number of cycles is reduced to about 200 to 300 times.

Even if the depth of discharge is deeper, the number of times the battery can be cycled is reduced, and the life expectancy is relatively reduced. However, for the safety of the battery, a capacity test has to be done. The original factory also said that the internal resistance of the battery has increased by 30% compared to when it was new. %, it may be caused by the corrosion of the plate grid inside the battery, the deterioration of the active material of the plate and the dryness of the electrolyte. So can it be boldly assumed that every time the full capacity is discharged, the internal resistance will increase by about 1~1.5%.
5196e715e690d2ccd4b7bbe76604ad05.png

二.Float Life:

Floating charging refers to the state that the battery is used as a backup power source, not used normally, but only used when necessary, such as uninterruptible power system (UPS) and power failure automatic lighting, etc. At this time, the battery life is calculated by time.

The main factor affecting the life of floating charge is the charging current, because when the battery is applied in the state of floating charge, it is usually charged continuously to ensure that the battery remains fully charged, but during continuous charging, the charging current will affect the electrodes. The corrosion rate of the plate, so generally in the case of supplementing the self-discharge of the battery, the charging current should be reduced as much as possible. Therefore, the constant voltage (CV) charging method is generally used for floating charging, and the floating charging voltage is set at the charging capacity. Slightly larger than the self-discharge capacity to adjust the size of the charging current by itself, which can relatively increase the battery life.

Another factor that affects the float charge life is the temperature. The higher the temperature, the faster the corrosion rate of the electrode plate will be, resulting in faster damage to the battery. For this lead-acid battery CSB (HRL12390W) battery, the relationship between float charge life and temperature is shown in the figure below. When the battery is operated at an ambient temperature of 25°C, the battery capacity will drop to 60% after 12~13 months of use. When the ambient temperature is 30°C, the battery capacity will drop to 60% after 8 months of use. Only at 5°C, use 18 The battery capacity can only be maintained at 80% after a month.

1fddc875d32ada0239812d9d48420161.png

Previous Back to List Next

首页
1
最新消息
2
电池再生及检测服务
3
电池的寿命定义4
新国环境开发股份有限公司 334 台湾桃园市八德区广福路901号
电池老化原因探讨 (1)       深度放电:放电深度越深,会减少电池的寿命,甚至损坏无法使用。为了电池安全角度考量下,不得不做容量测试。(2)       大电流放电:使用较大的放电电流,会缩短电池的使用寿命。这可以用电极铅板的腐蚀和截面积来加以解释,一般而言,铅酸电池的自然损坏是由於正电极铅板的腐蚀,而使电流流动的截面积变小,所以在大电流放电时,需要更大的铅板面积来提供如此大的电流流动,但当铅板的截面积已不足够让放电电流流过时,便会影响电池的寿命。为了使用安全角度考量下,不得不做大电流放电测试。(3)       大电流充电:使用大电流充电,产生的气体超过一定量时,会超过电池本身能吸收的速率,使内压上升,气体从安全阀排出,导致电解液被大量消耗,而减少电池的寿命。在定电压充电模式下,充电电流会随著电池充饱的程度而降低,当电池池充饱后,充电器自动进入浮充(Float charging)模式,让电池保持在充饱的状态。此法在充电初期时,因电池端的电压较低,造成初始充电电流过大,因而容易使电池的极板损坏及蓄电池本身温度升高,以致缩短蓄电池的寿命过度充电:若电池已经过度充电时,其各组成要件(极板、隔离板等)都将因电解液之氧化作用而受损。(4)       环境温度之影响:电池的环境温度会对其寿命造成影响。若以定电压充电,周遭温度过高时会加速电池内部材料的恶化,导致电池寿命缩短。太低温充电会有氢气产生,使内部压力增大或电解液减少,导致寿命缩短。一般而言,富液式电池的工作温度在20℃到40℃为最佳环境。贫液式电池(含AGM或GEL)的工作温度在20℃到25℃为最佳环境。 电池劣化(1)       铅酸电池不管进行充放电或浮充时,都会造成正极板水分减少之干涸,或负极板之硫酸化。(2)       正极板劣化的原因,可分为活性物质的软化、格子之腐蚀,以及格子与活性物质介面之阻碍(Barrier)等三种。正极活性物质经由充放电,反覆二氧化铅之溶解与硫酸铅之析出,而凝聚成较大之空洞,且发展成精致之胶质状(Colloidal)组织。此一过程电流以低电阻流通至活性物质之表面,同时从可确保硫酸扩散的通路来看,是一理想的构造,但是若形成此一胶质构造之活性物质微粒结合,逐渐变弱的同时,活性物质变成非活性化而降低放电容量。(3)       铅酸电池的电化学反应式如下图:因在整个铅酸电池的充、放电过程中的化学反应式中,都会消耗到铅酸电池中电解液的水份,因密闭反应效率并不很充分,过多的气体,会直接经由排气栓排出电池外,使电解液中水分逐渐减少。另外,当电池放电时,或电池温度较外界温度为高时,亦可能发生水蒸气渗透电解槽壁面,而逃逸至电池外面。(4)       负极板之硫酸化,当铅酸电池未能加以完全充电,平常又在部份性放电状态下使用时,最容易产生。特别在下层因高比重,经由电解液之成层化,将发生极板之硫酸化,且在极板下层将生成不易充电之较大硫酸铅结晶,导致容量下降。 电池劣化常用的三种判断(1)       离群电压:当电池使用在串联模式时,由於电池本身的特性不一致,导致电池在充放电的循环使用以后会产生更大的不一致性,造成有些电池过度充电而有些电池会充电不足的现象,因而加速电池的损坏。一般12V电池的浮充电压是设定在13.5±0.2V,电压过低时会造成电池效能衰退,容量降低。电压过高时会造成极板过电压急遽升高,造成气体快速产生,此时若气体重反应速率小於气体产生速率, 造成气体循环效率降低,电池内压力升高,气体经由排气阀逸出,因此在浮充电压必须控制在过电压气化点以下, 即控制气体生成速率,以免造成电池结构因内压过大而裂开或造成水份之散失,因而降低电池之使用寿命。(2)       浮充内阻:VRLA电池一般的失效模式是极板格子体腐蚀,极板活性物质劣化和电解液干涸。不寻常的失效模式是导电路径劣化和电解液过度干涸。这些情况都会影响电池和增加电池的内阻。如果电池内阻比新的时候增加了30%,该电池便应该再作试验以确定其原因,必要时可对该电池或系统进行容量试验以保证其可靠性。(3)       电池容量:电池系统每两年必须进行一次负载下的电池容量试验,最理想的是和原始安装时验收的结果接近。一但发现电池达到额定容量之85%时必须进行每年的容量测试。 https://www.nface.com.tw/cn/hot_307351.html 电池老化原因探讨 2021-05-27 2022-05-27
新国环境开发股份有限公司 334 台湾桃园市八德区广福路901号 https://www.nface.com.tw/cn/hot_307351.html
新国环境开发股份有限公司 334 台湾桃园市八德区广福路901号 https://www.nface.com.tw/cn/hot_307351.html
https://schema.org/EventMovedOnline https://schema.org/OfflineEventAttendanceMode
2021-05-27 http://schema.org/InStock $NT 0 https://www.nface.com.tw/cn/hot_307351.html

电池寿命


铅酸电池在使用上,如何确保电池可以正常的工作, 是一个很重要的议题,一般而言,电池在正常的使用下不至於突然损坏而不能工作,因此在判断电池是否损坏时,是以电池的容量为基准,对电池进行完整的充放电实验,当电池容量在本身额定容量的60%以下时,则此颗电池表示已严重老化,也可說是此电池已达寿命终期。

电池在实际使用时,通常会将电池串并联连接,其目的是为了提升电池组的容量,因此在对电池的寿命作判断时,是以一串电池组作为量测的单位,也由於是以一串电池组作为一个单位,所以在设定实验条件时常将电池组的各个电池视为相同,但在实际使用上却会有相当程度的差异,导致有些电池老化的速度相当快,因而减少整串电池组的可用容量,所以在电池损坏而不堪使用之前必须将其更换,以确保电池系统的正常运作



电池的寿命定义主要有两种


一.循环寿命 (Cycle Life):

循环意指将电池当作主要电源使用,所以充电放电的次数较为频繁,例如电动车辆;此时寿命的标准就是订定一个条件下,反覆充放电时,容量下降至针对初期值之某一值(例如80%或60%),可在此一期间所能反覆充放电的循环次数。

影响铅酸电池的循环寿命最大因素就是放电深度(DOD,Depth of Discharge)
,当所使用的放电深度越深时,电池所能循环使用的次数便越少,其关系如下图所示,针对此铅酸电池CSB(HRL12390W),当放电深度为50%时,循环使用次数约为400到500次,当放电深度为100%时,循环使用次数便降至约为200到300次。

即然放电深度越深时,电池所能循环使用的次数便越少,寿命也相对减少,但为了电池安全角度又不得不做容量测试,原厂又说电池内阻比新的时候增加了30%时,可能是电池内部的极板格子体腐蚀,极板活性物质劣化和电解液干涸所造成。所以是否可以大胆假设,每一次的全容量放电时会造成内阻上升约1~1.5%。
5196e715e690d2ccd4b7bbe76604ad05.png

二.浮充寿命(Float Life):

浮充是指将电池当作备用电源,平常并不使用,必要时才使用的狀态,如不断电系统(UPS)及停电自动照明灯等,此时电池的寿命就是以时间來计算。

影响浮充寿命主要因素为充电电流,因为当电池应用在浮充狀态下时,通常持续地在充电,以确保电池维持在充饱狀态,但在持续充电时,充电的电流会影响电极极板的腐蚀速度,所以一般在可以补充电池自我放电的情况下,尽可能地减小充电的电流,因此一般浮充均使用定电压(CV)充电法,将浮充电压设定於充电量略大於自我放电量,以自行调节充电电流的大小,可相对的增加电池的寿命。

另一个影响浮充寿命的因素就是温度,温度越高会加速电极板的腐蚀速度,导致电池越快损坏,针对此铅酸电池CSB(HRL12390W)电池浮充寿命与温度的关系如下图所示,电池操作於环境温度25℃ 时,使用12~13个月后电池容量下降至60%,环境温度30℃ 时,使用8个月后电池容量下降至60%,只有在5℃时,使用18个月后电池容量才能维持在80%。

1fddc875d32ada0239812d9d48420161.png

上一个 回列表 下一个