Common battery charging methods

The charging mode of the battery will affect the performance and life of the battery. When the charging current is too large, the chemical reaction of the battery is not enough, so that the internal resistance of the battery increases, causing the battery temperature to rise sharply. If used improperly, the internal material will be damaged; On the other hand, if the charging current is too small, a long charging time is required, which is very inconvenient to use. Therefore, in order to exert the great performance of the battery and does not require too long time to charge the battery, the charging method of the battery is very important.

The charging method of the battery includes a constant voltage (CV) charging method, a constant current (CC) charging method, a mixed constant current/constant voltage (CC/CV) charging method, and a pulse charging method (CP). Generally, most of the charging methods commonly used in the market are constant voltage charging method and constant current charging method. The main reason is that the circuit structure of the charger is simple and the design is easy, but there are two main methods for the two methods. The problem is that the constant voltage charging method has a large current at the initial stage of charging. In addition to causing the temperature of the battery to rise, the battery plate is also easily damaged, and the constant current charging method is too long when charging. The pulse charging method can provide a charging rest time during the charging process, so that the battery electrolyte can be depressed for a long time, so a larger current can be used for charging to shorten the charging time of the battery. The charging rule mentioned above will be respectively introduced below.

(1)       Constant voltage charging method: As shown in the following figure, the principle of the constant voltage charging method is to charge the battery with a constant voltage source, which has the advantages of simple circuit structure and easy control circuit design. In the constant voltage charging mode, the charging current will decrease as the battery is fully charged. When the battery is fully charged, the charger automatically enters the Float charging mode to keep the battery fully charged. In the initial stage of charging, the initial charging current is too large due to the low voltage at the battery end, so that the electrode plate of the battery is easily damaged and the temperature of the battery itself is increased, so that the life of the battery is shortened. In order to improve this disadvantage, a multi-stage voltage charging method can be used, that is, charging is performed with a lower charging voltage at the beginning of charging, and the charging voltage is raised after the voltage at the battery terminal rises.


bae5b362aafb78b1aa28562f5a76c4f7.png

(2)       Constant current charging method: As shown in the figure below, the constant current charging method charges the battery with a fixed current. This method is the same as the constant voltage charging method. When the battery is fully charged, the charger must be converted into a trickle. Charging mode to avoid damage caused by overcharging of the battery. Compared with the constant voltage charging method, this method can fully charge the battery in a short time, but must pay attention to the charging degree of the battery, because the charger will always provide a constant current to charge the battery, so when the battery is full, if not Stop charging immediately or switch to trickle charge mode, which will cause the battery to overcharge, damage the battery's plates, and reduce battery life.

7e3482a2dbc124a0a900ccb9b74ae3b8.png

(3)       Mixed constant current / constant voltage charging method: It is known from the above that the constant voltage and constant current charging methods have their own advantages and disadvantages. In order to improve the shortcomings of the two methods, a constant current / constant voltage charging method is proposed. This charging method can significantly reduce the charging time, and also has the function of self-regulating current with a constant voltage charging method, and does not cause the battery to overcharge. As shown in the figure below, the constant current mode is used at the beginning of charging. Since the battery accepts higher current when the battery is low, most of the energy released can be quickly replenished. When this mode continues until the battery voltage reaches. When the voltage is set, the charger will switch to the constant voltage mode to continue charging. At this time, it is called the equalization mode. After the battery is fully charged, the charger will automatically switch to the floating mode to keep the battery fully charged.

ef23a55145726cc046ba4ccb3f316ecf.png

 

(4)       Pulse charging method: The pulse charging method charges the battery with periodic pulse current. As shown in the figure below, this method can make the electrolyte in the battery more uniform during this period because there is a period of time to stop charging. Diffusion, so the energy of charging can be fully converted into electrical energy by chemical energy, so the charging efficiency is higher than the above method.

96ac858a53abd9431108ec8764bc185a.png

 

Since the closed lead-acid battery only adds just enough electrolyte, any loss of electrolyte will cause the battery capacity to drop. Therefore, it is not advisable to charge the battery with excessive current during the charging process to avoid excessively high. The current causes the vaporization rate of the electrolyte to exceed the rate of gas absorption. Therefore, in the experimental design, the charging current and frequency need to be standardized to ensure that the battery can be fully charged without harming the battery.

Previous Back to List Next

常用的电池充电方式

电池的充电方式会影响到电池的性能和寿命,当使用过大的充电电流时,电池的化学反应不及,使得电池内阻增加,造成电池温度的急遽上升,使用不当则会伤及内部的材料;反之,若充电电流太小,则需较长的充电时间,使用上十分不方便。因此,欲发挥电池的较大效能,且不需要太长的时间对电池充电,则电池的充电方法就显得十分重要。

电池的充电方法有定电压(CV)充电法、定电流(CC)充电法、混合定电流/定电压(CC/CV)充电法以及脉冲充电法(CP)等。一般市面上较常使用之充电方法大多为定电压充电法与定电流充电法两主种,主要原因在於充电器之电路结构简单,设计亦较容易,但此两种方法亦存在两个主要的问题,定电压充电法在充电初期电流较大,除了会造成蓄电池的温度升高外,电池极板也容易损坏,而定电流充电法则是充电时过长。脉冲充电法由於充电过程中可提供充电休息时间,使电池电解液获得缓合的时间,故可采用较大电流进行充电,以缩短蓄电池的充电时间,以下将分别介绍上述所提的充电法则。

(1)       定电压充电法:如下图所示,定电压充电法的原理是利用定电压源对电池进行充电,其优点为电路架构简单及控制电路设计容易。在定电压充电模式下,充电电流会随著电池充饱的程度而降低,当电池池充饱后,充电器自动进入浮充(Float charging)模式,让电池保持在充饱的状态。此法在充电初期时,因电池端的电压较低,造成初始充电电流过大,因而容易使电池的极板损坏及蓄电池本身温度升高,以致缩短蓄电池的寿命。欲改善此缺点,可采用多段电压充电法,亦即充电初期先以较低之充电电压进行充电,待电池端的电压上升后,在将充电电压提升。


bae5b362aafb78b1aa28562f5a76c4f7.png

(2)       定电流充电法:如下图所示,定电流充电法是以一固定电流对电池充电,此法与定电压充电法相同的是,当电池充饱后,充电器须转换为滴流充电模式以避免电池过充而损害。相较於定电压充电法,此法可以在短时间内将电池充饱,但是必须注意电池的充电程度,因为充电器会一直提供定电流给电池进行充电,所以当电池充饱后,若不立即停止充电或切换至滴流充电模式,则会造成电池过度充电,使电池的极板损坏,减少电池的寿命。

7e3482a2dbc124a0a900ccb9b74ae3b8.png

(3)       混合定电流/定电压充电法:由上述得知,定电压与定电流充电法各有其优缺点,为了改善此两种方法的缺点,於是定电流/定电压充电法被提出来,此充电方法可以明显的减少充电时间,也因具有定电压充电法织自我调节电流的功能,不会造成电池过充的情形。如下图所示,充电初期采用定电流模式,由於电池在电量较少时对电流的接受较高,此时可将大部份释放的能量快速的补回,当此模式一直进行到电池电压到达设定电压时,充电器会转换为定电压模式继续充电,此时称为均充模式,待电池充饱后,充电器会自动转换为浮充模式,让电池维持在充饱电的状态。

ef23a55145726cc046ba4ccb3f316ecf.png

 

(4)       脉冲充电法:脉冲充电法是以周期性脉冲电流对电池充电,如下图所示,此法因为有一段停止充电的时间,使得电池内之电解液可以利用这段时间获得较均匀的扩散,因此充电的能量能充分的由化学能转换成电能,故此充电效率较前述之方法为高。

96ac858a53abd9431108ec8764bc185a.png

 

由於密闭式的铅酸电池仅添加刚好足够的电解液,因此任何形式的电解液损失均会造成电池容量的下降,所以在充电过程中不宜用过高的电流对电池充电,以避免过高的电流使电解液的气化速度超过气体的吸收速度。所以在实验设计时,对於充电电流与频率都需要加以规范,以确保电池能适度充饱又不至於伤害到电池。

上一个 回列表 下一个

 
Powered by www.url.com.tw